Flavorfully asked questions
Ask usWant to find out more about your favourite Silk product? Good for you!
All our Silk products are designed to be dairy-free. We have extensive testing protocols in place at our production facilities to detect and prevent contamination by dairy or dairy components. Anyone with severe allergies should always consult a doctor before introducing a new food. We work hard to keep the information on this website accurate and up to date, but please check the label on your product for the most current allergen statement, warning or instruction.
Yes, all Silk products are dairy-free, lactose-free and casein-free, and they can be suitable for people with dairy allergies. We have extensive testing protocols in place at our facilities to detect and prevent contamination by dairy components.
A dairy allergy is an extreme sensitivity to the proteins in dairy products and should not be confused with lactose intolerance. Dairy allergies can range from mild indigestion to anaphylaxis, which is an acute reaction. People with lactose intolerance have difficulty digesting the naturally occurring sugar in milk, which can cause stomach discomfort. Anyone with severe allergies should always consult a doctor before introducing a new food.
Absolutely. All Silk products are naturally lactose-free.
Silk products, except certain Silk products with oat, are gluten-free and can be suitable for people with gluten allergies. Some Silk oat products use gluten-free oat. Please check on pack for more information. We have allergen protocols in place to prevent and detect contamination by gluten or gluten components. Of course, those with allergies should always consult a doctor before introducing a new food.
We produce many products containing nuts. To know if a specific product contains nuts, always check the allergen statement on each product. Also, many of our products are produced on shared equipment. Because consumer safety is our highest priority, we have extensive allergen management protocols in place to help ensure that ingredient commingling does not occur, but anyone with allergies should always consult a doctor before introducing a new food.
Yes, our products are completely vegan! There are no animal products, by-products or derivatives in our products. The calcium we use in some of our products is derived from natural limestone. All other vitamins and live cultures used to fortify Silk products are vegetable-based.
Most Silk products are certified Kosher Dairy by the Orthodox Union. This means that our dairy-free products may have been processed on equipment also used for dairy. It does not indicate the presence of dairy components in the products. We have extensive protocols in place at our facilities to detect and prevent contamination by dairy components.
No, our products are not designed to be a replacement for breast milk or infant formula.
If you are pregnant or nursing, be sure to talk with your doctor about food or nutrition concerns.
We recommend checking with your pediatrician about the best diet for your child.